FIFA: is another sign of breakup from EA, the end of the brand near?

FIFA: is another sign of breakup from EA, the end of the brand near?


Now here we are: after months of news and press releases, now it is Electronic Arts to expose itself in the first person on the FIFA issue. And it does so with a long interview with the Financial Times, where David Jackson (head of the Branding division) expresses some doubts that are decidedly not encouraging for the future of the brand.

FIFA and PES are now reaching ever higher standards. It has been rumored for some time that Electronic Arts intends not to renew the FIFA license. As for the players and the competitions, nothing would change since they are managed separately with individual agreements but for the monetary side, on the other hand, yes. In fact, the Zurich organization is asking for too much money, which at this point the publisher and developer of Redwood would no longer seem interested in spending and it is Jackson himself who reiterates it.

"We are not sure that in the near future we we will move again under the current name, ”Jackson told the Financial Times. In short: the next home football game Electronic Arts could really no longer be called FIFA and on the other hand the choice seems the most logical one, considering the cost of the license, ready to practically double over the next 5 years at the request of Gianni Infantino and partners. For its part, the publisher is not even worried about the players. "Currently FIFA has a lot of active users and we don't see why this scenario should change," explained Jackson, thanks to the fan base of their video game.

Between the press release of the sporting organization and the possible, unpublished name that may have the next Electronic Arts football simulator, we are pretty sure that the sports games landscape will not go unscathed by this change. Clearly it may take a while before we can see it live, but the feeling is that perhaps the time is ripe to stop seeing the name of FIFA in a video game store.

Fancy virtual football? The 2021 eFootball update awaits you on Amazon.

Qatar GP: F1 Stars And Football Legends Promote FIFA World Cup Via Penalty Shootout; WATCH

The excitement continues to increase for the FIFA World Cup 2022, which is exactly a year away from commencing. The tournament will take place in Qatar next year from November 21 to December 18.

With F1 taking place in Qatar this weekend, a collaboration was planned between racing drivers and football legends to promote next year's World Cup. The drivers taking part included Ferrari's Carlos Sainz, AlphaTauri's Pierre Gasly and Yuki Tsunoda, and Mercedes F1's Valtteri Bottas, amongst others. Meanwhile, the football legends taking part included Yaya Toure and Cafu.

F1 and FIFA collaborate to promote Qatar World Cup

The first-ever Qatar GP is scheduled to take place tonight at the iconic Losail International Circuit, exactly one year before the FIFA World Cup 2022 takes place in Qatar. In order to promote the event, football and F1 stars competed against each other in a penalty shoot-out challenge. In the video below, fans can see which stars found the back of the net with their spot-kicks as veteran goalkeeper Peter Schmeichel attempted to save them.

How to watch Qatar GP live in India?

Fans wondering how to watch F1 live in India can tune in to the Star Sports Network, which has the official broadcasting rights in the country. As for the Qatar GP live stream, fans can tune in to the Disney+ Hotstar app. Meanwhile, fans can also track the live updates of the race on the official website and social media handles of F1. The race gets underway at 7:30 PM IST on November 21.

Updated Qatar GP grid after Verstappen and Bottas' penalties

1) Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes F1)

2) Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)

3) Fernando Alonso (Alpine F1)

4) Lando Norris (McLaren F1)

5) Carlos Sainz (Ferrari F1)

6) Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes F1)

7) Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing)

8) Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)

9) Esteban Ocon (Alpine F1)

10 Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin Racing)

11 Sergio Perez (Red Bull Racing)

12 Lance Stroll (Aston Martin Racing)

13) Charles Leclerc (Ferrari F1)

14 Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren F1) 

15) George Russell (Williams F1)

16 Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo Racing)

17 Nicolas Latifi (Williams F1)

18) Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo Racing)

19 Mick Schumacher (Haas F1)

20 Nikita Mazepin (Haas F1)